Saint Mary's Home of Erie, PA

2015 Ageless Remarkable Erieite Honorees

F. Brady Louis and Joseph J. Prischak will be honored with an Ageless Remarkable Erieite Award on Thursday, September 10th, during Saint Mary's Follies. The Ageless Remarkable Erieite Award recognizes seniors age 75 and older for their continued commitment to the Erie community, giving of their time and talents to make a difference in the lives of others. Honorees have a zest for life that is contagious and serve as an inspiration for all who call Erie home.

F. Brady Louis

For decades, Brady Louis has been one of Erie County’s premier volunteers, donating his time, talent and expertise in countless ways to improve lives and make Erie County a better place to live. Brady has also become Erie’s most prolific Master of Ceremonies, frequently serving as an auctioneer. His infectious enthusiasm has propelled others to join in supporting many different organizations. Brady’s efforts, especially with the Neighborhood Art House, Rotary Club of Erie, and the Erie Playhouse, along with many other local non-profits, have contributed to more than $1,000,000 being raised through special events and other fundraisers. His involvement, and vigorous support of the Rotary Club of Erie has helped children in our community and abroad, through scholarships presented to City of Erie students, as well as sponsorship of a secondary school in Haiti. Brady has spent four decades as a volunteer with the United Way of Erie County, serving in various capacities as Board membership, Week of Thanks Chairperson, and most recently as a member of the Imagination Ball planning committee benefiting Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library project. In 2014, he was the recipient of the Tocqueville Award, presented by the United Way of Erie County, recognizing outstanding volunteer service to our community through personal leadership and long-time commitment. Additionally, Brady was the 2005 recipient of the Edward C. Doll Community Service Award, presented by the Erie Community Foundation, for long standing volunteer experience and personal philanthropy that has helped shape a better future for our community. He and his wife, Renie, are the parents of seven adult children and grandparents of 18.

Joseph J. Prischak

Joseph J. Prischak began work in the plastics field in 1949, co-founded his first company in 1956, and then created Plastek Group in 1971. Today, the Plastek Group comprises 10 companies and 2,000 employees worldwide. Joe retired as president and CEO of Plastek Group in 2002, remaining as chairman of the board. Joe played a crucial role in creating Penn State Erie, The Behrend College’s plastics engineering technology program, one of only four accredited programs in the United States. Behrend’s program boasts the largest plastics lab dedicated to undergraduate studies in the country, with state-of-the-art computers, materials, and processing labs. Joe also started an identical plastics program in 1991 at The University of Bratislava, Slovak Republic (formerly Czechoslovakia). Joe and his wife also created the Joseph and Isabelle Prischak Trustee Scholarship for Penn State Behrend students, and the need-based Prischak Family Trustee Scholarship, designated for Plastek Group employees and their children and grandchildren. On the international front, during a visit to Africa in 2006, Joe came upon people without access to clean drinking water. He spearheaded efforts to drill wells to establish clean drinking water, and created his own charity, “Africa 6000 International.” The water wells have saved an estimated 750,000 lives to date and should be functional for at least another 40 or 50 years. Many of the water projects are equipped with solar pumping systems that allow clean water to be pumped and stored all day long, making it easier for women and children who had previously walked long distances to get water or who extended lots of energy to operate hand pumps. In 2002, Joe created the Lake Erie Speedway, a racetrack in Erie County that features NASCAR-sanctioned stock car and truck races.

2014 Ageless Remarkable Erieite Honorees